Your Doctor and You

Relationships                                                          

I would say I have a fairly good relationship with my doctor and the kids’ pediatrician. I know I have written before how frustrated I was and how my husband and I came up with the answers about the allergies ourselves, but I take into consideration that our doctors are human beings too. They see tons of people and sometimes it is possible for them to miss something which does not appear obvious. I also think that when you go to school and you learn things by the textbook, it can be difficult to take into consideration that while most diseases, conditions, etc. have specific symptoms that have been put into a book for doctors to be guided by, BUT, not EVERYONE has those exact symptoms. The best experience I have had, was we took Josh to see a pediatric endocrinologist since he had elevated T3 and T4 levels on blood work a few times. See, most thyroid conditions are determined by TSH (thyroid regulating hormone) being off either elevated or lowered. Josh’s TSH levels were right where they should be so, no thyroid condition was detected. I asked if it was possible, due to an overconsumption of foods he was allergic to(this is when we first found out about his allergies and it was right after Halloween, so you can imagine what he had consumed) could possibly cause his thyroid to react. She said, “Well, textbook, NO! But, in actuality, anything is possible!” AHA!!

Entanglement

This goes a little off the beaten track but seems to fit with my journey of discovery.  I had to take a Social Psychology class for my Nutrition program.  Have you ever felt that sometimes when you focus on something, everything in your universe begins to apply to the source of that focus?  It seems like somehow it got placed in your path so you would find it.  This class was one of the best I have ever taken and the professor, Dr. John Foldy, really intrigued his students.  He has done studies in how the mind (our thoughts) can actually influence objects, etc.  I don’t know how many of you out there have read any of Dan Brown’s books?!  In The Lost Symbol, Dan mentions a scientist working on a branch of study that will be groundbreaking and possibly change the world.  The scientist is in the image of Marilyn Schlitz, who happens to be the Director for the Institute of Noetic science.  Noetic Science focuses on consciousness.

I guess my point in all of this, is that since I decided to take an active stance in finding the solution rather than relying on my preconceived notions or what I was being told by my Doctors, I have continually had  information placed before me which fits into what I am trying to discover.  I have been drawn to others who are adequately prepared to give me the information I need to fill in the blanks.  Consider this, one of my best friends whom works in the medical field lost her job at a neurology practice due to downsizing.  She found another job almost immediately with an ophthalmologist office and then soon after received a call from an ENT and Allergy practice offering her more money and better benefits.  She opted to take that position.  Soon after she began there as a medical assistant who is responsible for scheduling appointments and I found references to Orthomolecular Medicine and the suggestion of brain allergies, etc.  After a second hospitalization for mental crises, we immediately got Josh an appointment with the practice she works for and discovered he does indeed have allergies which could be responsible for his symptoms.  By adopting this attitude I have started to focus on the solution rather than the problem. (My favorite author is Terry Goodkind, this is a reference to him)

Functional Medicine

In My Take on Nutrition-Based Therapy, I mention how it seems that Doctors would prefer to prescribe medication rather than find the source of the symptoms.  Well, after posting that I found information about Functional Medicine and Doctors who share my belief.  Holy Cow!  There is that entanglement thing again.  Another blogger posted about Dr. Mark Hyman who is a functional doctor working out of Massachusetts and then Peter Osborne, The Gluten Free Warrior, posted about Dr. Russell Jaffe this morning.  Essentially Dr. Jaffe is talking about how allergies affect our bodies and how conventional testing can miss certain allergies due to the immune system having a lag in responding to certain allergens.  Essentially it could take up to two weeks for your immune system to respond to certain allergens. 

His ideology: “We are and we become what we eat, drink, think and do.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

